Morale Check

RPG Miscellany

Labyrinth Lord ascending AC

Both of the groups that I have been running Labyrinth Lord for have had trouble adjusting to the descending AC , and combat lookup table/thac0 system. To be honest after having played d20 for so long I find myself having trouble adapting as well. And so I went and converted Labyrinth Lord to an ascending AC system.

On another note but somewhat related I have decided that I don’t like using a screen while running my game. Switching to ascending AC gets rid of the problem of having to lookup attack values on a table but the issue of having to look up saving throws remains. I came up with a simple formula to approximate saving throws. In writing this post another, just as simple, idea for calculating saving throws came to me and I have added it to the document.

Word version: LL ascending AC update
PDF Version: LL ascending AC update

2 responses to “Labyrinth Lord ascending AC

  1. Hyperform January 11, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    This is a little delayed reaction here, mostly because I’d been meaning to look up to see if anyone had ever created an ascending AC hack for LL but then just never. did. I really like what Labyrinth Lord brings to the table, but I hate THAC0/descending AC. I feel like the RPG world, as a whole, has moved beyond it, and the opportunity to refer to one less chart is always a welcome one as far as I’m concerned. Overall, I think this looks like a very good heuristic for quick and dirty conversion, and it’s a bit easier than keeping the comparative charts for ascending vs. descending AC around from Swords and Wizardry or Lamentations of the Flame Princess. Given that LL is a fairly faithful B/X conversion, and given that descending AC is a part of that milieu, it makes sense that LL would preserve it, but nevertheless it is welcome to have the anachronism of ascending AC to complement it as a modern touch. It’s also a nice touch to have the info available for download in both Word and PDF formats, so thank you for your work. The fact that you reworked charts as well is the icing on the cake.

  2. Pingback: [Discworld] …And A Thousand Elephants! | Stuffed Crocodile

Leave a Reply

